Campus CZS3

Department for Political Science

Welcome at the homepage of the Department for Political Science at Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena!
Campus CZS3
Image: Anne Günther (University of Jena)

Political science is dedicated to the analysis and explanation of political processes. Its goal is to grasp political affairs and interactions in all their complexity and to make connections transparent. It therefore investigates the goals, problems and outcomes of political debates, deals with the processes of political opinion-forming and decision-making and examines the institutional-structural framework within which politics takes place.

The department holds a staff of 7 professors and about 20 assistant professors. Each of the professors heads a subdivision in a specific field of political science such as International Relations, European Studies, or Comparative Government. Thus, the department is able to teach and to do research in the full range of the academic discipline of political science and to offer several general and specified academic programmes.